There is an overriding concept in MeCCG that if one or more of a card's effects are unable to resolve during the resolution of a chain of effects, those effects are not resolved but the rest of the cards effects still resolve normally. For example, if an ally plays Marvels Told or some other card that would require that ally to make a corruption check, the ally skips the corruption check (since allies don’t make corruption checks) but the rest of the card still resolves (see ICE 46, ICE 75, etc.). Similarly, an effect that would reduce an attack’s prowess and body still reduces a creature’s prowess even if the creature has no body (see ICE 83), an effect that would add prowess and strikes to an attack still adds prowess even if an attack has one strike per character (see CRF 4, ICE 528), and so forth.
Turning to the cards in question, here is the text of Promptings of Wisdom for reference:
It is important to note that this effect targets “his” company, i.e. the ranger’s company, which means that the cancellation effect stays with the ranger if he splits into his own company per Rule 2.II.3.6.1:Light Enchantment. Playable during the organization phase on a ranger. Target ranger may tap to cancel all hazard effects for the rest of the turn that: force his company to return to its site of origin or that tap his companyʹs current or new site. If so tapped, target ranger makes a corruption check. Cannot be duplicated in a given company.
Here is the noteworthy text of Seized by Terror (with Faces of the Dead worded similarly):Whenever a company splits, the resource player chooses which characters are considered the original company and which characters are considered the new company. Any resource permanent-events or ongoing effects that were targeting the original company (as an entity) stay with the original company, whereas any effects that are targeting a specific “character’s company” stay with that character.
Normally a poorly rolled Seized by Terror/Faces of the Dead require a character to split off AND to then immediately return to the original company’s site of origin. However, if a ranger is in the company with Promptings of Wisdom already in effect (either having been tapped for its effect earlier in the turn, or else tapped in response and then having resolved first per the rules of chains of effects), the result will depend on which character Seized by Terror/Faces of the Dead is targeting:Target character makes a roll (draws a #) and adds his mind. If the result is less than 12, that character splits off into a different company, and immediately returns to his original companyʹs site of origin.
- If the hazard targets the ranger with Promptings of Wisdom, the ranger splits off into his own company but then Promptings of Wisdom cancels the effect that would return him to his site of origin. However, the rest of his original company is no longer protected by Promptings of Wisdom, since its effect stays with the ranger. The ranger then continues to the new site by himself (but without a separate movement/hazard phase) and rejoins his company at the end of the turn’s movement/hazard phases. If a card like Snowstorm were played in the interim, the original company would not be protected by Promptings of Wisdom and would therefore be returned to the site of origin, while the ranger would still be protected and continue onward by himself to the new site.
- If the hazard targets a different character in the ranger’s company, that character splits off into his own company AND is returned to his site of origin, because the cancellation effect of Promptings of Wisdom stays with the ranger’s company (which is still protected in this case).