Lugronk For Dragons?

Moderators: Vastor Peredhil, Thorsten the Traveller

Post Reply
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2679
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Lugronk For Dragons?

Post by Bandobras Took » Thu Mar 17, 2016 12:32 am

Lugronk says "Balrog Only" instead of "Balrog Specific." Is this deliberate, so that he may not be used by Dragons/Grey Players?
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Council Member
Posts: 1615
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Re: Lugronk For Dragons?

Post by Thorsten the Traveller » Wed Mar 23, 2016 4:55 pm

'Balrog only' was intended so that Durloch can play him, who is not The Balrog, though still a Balrog. The question is whether Balrog specific refers only to The Balrog or could refer to any Balrog.

A Dragon-lord does count as a Balrog-player (per Grey Player rules), but that doesn't make him a Balrog. Nevertheless, with Mindbend you should be able to play Lugronk, yes.

I'll be making a clarification somewhere, perhaps in upcoming mene rulesbook-addendum.
'specific' means a card can only be included in deck if you are playing a particular (set of) avatar(s).
'only' means a card can only be used on/by a particular set of characters/avatars.

So 'Balrog only' technically indicates you can include him in any deck (if rules allow it), but play him only if you are a Balrog. For characters this is a bit weird, it's more used for resources. So either Lugronk should be Balrog specific, or grey player only.
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.

Post Reply

Return to “News, Issues, Questions”