Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Moderators: Thorsten the Traveller, Vastor Peredhil

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 918
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Post by CDavis7M » Wed May 22, 2019 5:04 am

If you use the optional use to start with your avatar in play ("costing" 12 Mind) -- can you still include the normal amount of avatar cards in your deck? (e.g., 3 for 30/30, 4 if you get up to 80 cards total with characters and avatars).

The Mind of Lord Avatars does not count against the GI, right? What is it used for? DF Dwarfs can be played as characters but Elves cannot. Is it just used to check mind requirements for certain cards?

Can you automatically move to Ruins of Belegost/Nogrod from Blue Mountain Dwarf Hold without rolling for under-deeps movement (despite the card listing (11) for the movement? I believe "yes," it's automatic, as you only need to roll when an underdeeps site is the site of origin. However, this is sort of anti-thematic with the effect of discarding lost knowledge to move there. (you fall into a hole that brings you to the Ruins of a city but luckily you brought a map to find your way out).

User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Council Member
Posts: 1674
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Re: Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Post by Thorsten the Traveller » Thu May 23, 2019 12:33 pm

A) yes you can still have the normal amount of avatar cards in deck/pool combined. Also note that you can only include 1 avatar copy in your pool.

B) mind values are used for certain cards, resources like Fireworks, Durin's Day, or At Your Service, but also hazards like Eyes of the Shadow (though granted, most do not affect Lords). And indeed Dwarf-lord avatars can be played as normal character if you are a Dwarf-lord player.
Nb. the mind of your avatar never costs GI to control.
Nb. even if you start the game with e.g. Balin (7 mind) as your avatar, he still costs 12 of your initial 20 GI.

C) indeed, as per MEDM rules, moving from surface site to an Under-deeps site never requires a roll. I don't think it's anti-thematic, wandering into the deeps and getting lost down there is much easier than finding your way back up again ;-)
ask anybody who had to be rescued from the catacombs in Rome...
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 918
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Post by CDavis7M » Fri May 24, 2019 4:06 pm

Thanks Thorsten. And reading the Guides has also answered many of my questions. So thanks for those as well.

Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk


User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 918
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Post by CDavis7M » Sun May 26, 2019 4:56 pm

Firstborn: Possessions of the High-elves

2 stage points. Permanent event.

Elf-lord and Elessar only. Playable on a Lordhaven. Your Palantíri are each worth full MP. Tap this and tap an Elf with a mind of 5 or more (or any Noldo or Sinda) at the site to let him take control of one of the following items: Adamant Helmet, Elf-stone, Miruvor or Scabbard of Chalcedony. If Círdan or Elrond taps, he may take control of Jewel of Beleriand instead. The item may be taken from your hand, discard pile, or sideboard. Afterwards, the Elf makes a CC. Cannot be duplicated on a given site.
Can Possession of the High Elves (and also Green Elves) be played on your starting site? Similar to Hidden Haven, which uses similar language.

Vastor Peredhil
Council Member
Posts: 1053
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:46 am
Location: Kempen (Niederrhein) Germany

Re: Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Post by Vastor Peredhil » Sun May 26, 2019 8:47 pm

sure

yours Nico

User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Council Member
Posts: 1674
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Re: Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Post by Thorsten the Traveller » Mon May 27, 2019 4:21 am

indeed. Take note, you immediately place the starting site with it. If after draft it turns out you cannot start here, the stage card goes to play deck or sideboard.
https://councilofelrond.org/forum/viewt ... =32&t=1299
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.

User avatar
kober
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Re: Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Post by kober » Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:26 pm

On a similar topic, are Falathrim detainment against hero companies (v. Galadhrim)?

Vastor Peredhil
Council Member
Posts: 1053
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:46 am
Location: Kempen (Niederrhein) Germany

Re: Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Post by Vastor Peredhil » Thu Jun 27, 2019 6:17 am

Sadly it seems that the 2018 version does miss the 1st line, where it says that they do be detainment vs heros

Darksatin
Posts: 523
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: Chalon sur Saône, France

Re: Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Post by Darksatin » Thu Jun 27, 2019 10:02 am

Vastor Peredhil wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 6:17 am
Sadly it seems that the 2018 version does miss the 1st line, where it says that they do be detainment vs heros
How is it possible?
The file used in 2018 is not the same as the one used in 2014?

Vastor Peredhil
Council Member
Posts: 1053
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:46 am
Location: Kempen (Niederrhein) Germany

Re: Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Post by Vastor Peredhil » Thu Jun 27, 2019 10:40 am

correct is not the same file, hiw that is possible, well even Eric is only human ;)

User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Council Member
Posts: 1674
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Re: Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Post by Thorsten the Traveller » Thu Jun 27, 2019 11:07 am

Not correct (though true about the human part ;-)).
It seems we also missed this one in the 2014 print.

It is in the MSE file for MEFB however, and on gccg. So technically still a print error and not an erratum.
I also checked the FF 2014 corrections file you sent me Dominique but it's not on there either. So, we all missed it.
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.

User avatar
kober
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Re: Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Post by kober » Wed Jul 03, 2019 2:42 am

A couple of questions:
Clean the Greenwood wrote:[...] The company faces 2 of the following attacks (opponent’s choice; cannot be cancelled): Spiders — 5 strikes with 7 prowess; Orcs — 3 strikes with 8 prowess; Trolls 2 — strikes with 9 prowess. Demon — 1 strike with 11 prowess [...] If stored, it gives 2 MP and attacks of the above named types against hero companies at or moving to a site in Mirkwood receive -1 to their prowess and strikes (to minimum of 2) [...]
Once a Clean the Greenwood is stored and I'm playing another copy, does the -1 modifier apply to the attacks faced while resolving the other copy, e.g. would the demon have 0 strikes? Also, does the -1 modifier apply to automatic-attacks at Mirkwood sites, e.g. the orcs at Sarn Goriwing?
Decisions of the White Council wrote:[...] Once per turn, the hazard player may place a hazard long-event in play with this card [...]
What happens to the long-event cards placed with the DotWC when the latter is discarded?

Kjeld
Posts: 222
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:40 pm

Re: Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Post by Kjeld » Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:36 am

kober wrote:
Wed Jul 03, 2019 2:42 am
Once a Clean the Greenwood is stored and I'm playing another copy, does the -1 modifier apply to the attacks faced while resolving the other copy, e.g. would the demon have 0 strikes?
This would seem to be covered by the clause "to a minimum of 2".

User avatar
kober
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Re: Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Post by kober » Thu Jul 04, 2019 11:13 am

Kjeld wrote:
Wed Jul 03, 2019 3:36 am
This would seem to be covered by the clause "to a minimum of 2".
Not sure how I missed that :oops: Thanks!

Would the -1 modifier apply to the attacks faced while resolving the other copy of Clean the Greenwood, though?

User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Council Member
Posts: 1674
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Re: Various Questions on DC (especially First Folk cards)

Post by Thorsten the Traveller » Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:40 pm

Yes, it applies to companies facing attacks of mentioned types while at (or moving to) a site in Mirkwood. We choose this way, rather than creatures keyed to site/region etc, so it would apply to automatic-attacks and attacks from stuff like Towers Destroyed, Spider of the Morlat, or even CvCC with a company of only Orcs/Trolls (though technically you only give 1 character a -1 ;-))

And the minimum is indeed 2, so the lowest attack would be 1@2. It seems to make these attacks almost insignificant, but Spiders can be boosted to good hights with Full of Froth/Protecting Their Domain combo, and it still takes some setup, moving to Dol Guldur, playing Clean the Greenwood and storing it (though a clever player does that at the same site...)
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.

Post Reply

Return to “News, Issues, Questions”