I'm not ignoring it—it isn't there. Notice my proper use of the long-dash ( — ) without a condition or a result. A use consistent with the explanation of the long-dash I posted above.meaglyn wrote: ↑Wed Oct 07, 2020 1:20 am You interpretation of the second condition ignores the text on the left side of the dashes and treats the right side as both the condition and the result. If you that with the first one it's just "your opponent wins." which doesn't seem like much fun.
It's hard for me to see how you can ignore the conditional part of the victory condition.
I have seen no description of the long-dash ( — ) in the English language to suggest that it implies a "condition and result," and you have provided none. Furthermore, its clear from the METW rules that the long-dash does not imply a "condition and result".
Except that the rule is not "conditions and results". And your interpretation ignores the METW Victory Conditions use of the long-dash. It is clear from METW that author did not consider the long-dash ( — ) to imply condition/result. In METW, destroying The One Ring is the Victory Condition, NOT "move The One Ring to Mount Doom and play certain cards." This is obvious because you can play "certain cards" without winning and you can win without ever moving The One Ring to Mount Doom. As stated on the "certain cards", The One Ring is destroyed.
"Move The One Ring to Mount Doom" is just a means for playing the cards that may potentially destroy The One Ring since such cards are only playable at Mount Doom. Moving is a means, not a condition. Similarly, moving The One Ring to Barad-dur is a means to reunite Sauron with The One Ring, not a condition for winning.
I cannot see why the author would decide to use the long-dash instead of the word "then" if they intended to describe a condition and result. And, as explained above, if this really were supposed to be "condition" and "result," it fails in doing so since the result does not always follow from the condition and the result can occur without the condition. So it is not even a "condition and result."meaglyn wrote: ↑Wed Oct 07, 2020 1:20 am These victory conditions are written as <condition> -- <result> in the rule book snippet you posted.
The first has the condition "if your ringwraith is eliminated" and the result is "your opponent wins". If your ringwraith is not eliminated then this victory condition does not apply and your opponent does not win because of it.
Do you not see how the second one follows the same simple pattern of <condition> -- <result>?
That understanding is not consistent with the METW Rules nor is it consistent with any description of the long dash I've seen outside of this thread. The long-dash is used to join separate concepts. Moving The One Ring to Barad-dur is a means to reuniting Sauron with The One Ring, and so this separate concept is joined by a long-dash.
My interpretation only requires "Sauron is reunited with The One Ring and you win." Which is right there in the rules.