One beginner Question regarding MP

Errata issued by the CoE, open discussion of candidate rules for errata, and submissions for the Annual Rules Vote.
Post Reply
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:45 am
Location: Marburg/Lahn

One beginner Question regarding MP

Post by Negator »

I have on question regarding the counting of MP. My starting Characters have 6 MP. If i am forced to take, lets say Fatty, back to my hand, do i loose this one MP going down to 5? If i stay at 6 and can play him again, will i get this one point again, going to 7? What if a character dies? Do i loose his MPs? If Frodo dies, do i loose his 2 MP + the 2 MP mentioned in his text?

And another small question. I can play a Character at his homeside and at a haven. is it necessary that my Wizard is at the haven present?

Thanks for your help!
User avatar
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2021 5:53 pm
Location: If Oxford is Hobbiton (Tolkien's statmt in Letter294). Between river Adorn sources and Gap of Isen

Re: One beginner Question regarding MP

Post by Baba »

The total MP are incremented positively or negatively with each action, if an item is lost due to a failure in corruption test, the points are lost.

Likewise, if an effect causes a character to go back in your hand, the MP decreased by the character's value.
If you can play a turn after, nothing prevents you from playing it again (you have to follow the rules concerning your wizard and the character's arrival location as well as the limit of one character per turn) when put it into the game, the total MP will increase accordingly.
If it is the same character the operation will have been of no consequence
Jouer pour le plaisir sans se prendre la tête !
User avatar
Posts: 2364
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: One beginner Question regarding MP

Post by CDavis7M »

You don't need to track MP during the game. You just count it up at the Free Council.

And yes, if your wizard is in play, any new characters that you play either need to be played at the Wizard's site or under the direct influence of some character. Check the Standard Rules for a few more complications.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules & Errata”