What Sauron considers ok changes.

Errata issued by the CoE, open discussion of candidate rules for errata, and submissions for the Annual Rules Vote.
Sauron
Ex Council Chairman

Ok, your position is clear, let's take it in another direction: which changes in rules/cards would you like to see to make the game more diverse and attractive for new players? Which obstructions in the game do you see? You can use this board section, but preferably start another thread.
This was split off from the other topic as this is a new line of thought and reasoning.

This game is a complex game with many strategies, tricks, tips, etc. No new player is going to be able to absorb it all. I've been playing for over 10 years and I still don't know everything.

1st - I think any changes in the rules or clarifications must be backed up by our primary rule sources (Rule Books from the Starters, CoL Tournament Policy, CRF, and Digests)

2nd - How we choose to interpert those things can change as we've seen in the past, some rulings from previous digests have been overturned due to new lines of reasoning

3rd - You ask which changes in rules/card would I like to see to make the game more diverse and attractive for new players? I know this is going to sound harsh, but I'm not looking at the rules and such from the perspective of a new player. I'm looking at them from established players, tournaments etc. A new player is going to make mistakes by virtue of being a new player, s/he will learn along the way as the rest of us by doing research, playing, other players pointing out things, etc.

4th - What obstructions in the game do I see. The biggest obstruction I see is the complexity of the rules, however I do not have a good solution to this other than for players to learn or make a quick cheat sheet. Perhaps extensive guides into the more complex rules would help. I know alot of people have issues with chains, passive conditions, etc.
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard

Sauron wrote: