hand size increase optional?

Errata issued by the CoE, open discussion of candidate rules for errata, and submissions for the Annual Rules Vote.
Post Reply
thorondor
Council Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: salzburg, austria
Contact:

hand size increase optional?

Post by thorondor » Wed May 15, 2019 5:59 pm

Part of Pallando´s text:
His controlling player may keep one more card than normal in his hand.
"May" means, it is optional, whether I want to make use of the hand size increase or not, right?
When do I decide, that I want to have one more card? do I need to stick to a decision for the whole game, once it is made? Or may I change, like: at the end of the m/h phase of company 1 I decide to have 9 cards, at the end of the m/h phase of company 2 I decide to have only 8 cards.

This could help to draw some more cards when squatting companies are involved.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2994
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: hand size increase optional?

Post by Bandobras Took » Wed May 15, 2019 6:11 pm

CRF wrote:Effects which increase your hand size or allow you to hold one more card in your hand mean that you draw up to your new hand size or discard down to it at the appropriate points during the game.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

thorondor
Council Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: salzburg, austria
Contact:

Re: hand size increase optional?

Post by thorondor » Wed May 15, 2019 6:23 pm

Hmm, okay, so "may" means "must". thanks!

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 861
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: hand size increase optional?

Post by CDavis7M » Wed May 15, 2019 6:31 pm

I was recently browsing the rulings with respect to "when" hand size increases (e.g., at the end of the M/H vs at the beginning of the site phase) and I ran across this question several times. It is consistently ruled that hand-size IS increased (must be increased). There is no options.

User avatar
Khamul the Easterling
Council Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: hand size increase optional?

Post by Khamul the Easterling » Wed May 15, 2019 6:44 pm

I always believed the "may" was to be interpreted as "must", i.e. the extra card is not optional. Rechecking the CRF (from which I think I got this idea) now contradicts me.
Anyone who can confirm this ("may" is correct), please?

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 861
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: hand size increase optional?

Post by CDavis7M » Wed May 15, 2019 7:58 pm

Here are a few rulings on "may" and had size. I think there are even more. I am not aware of discussion on the term "may" in general, but this is a hard thing to search for.
NetRep #51 wrote:if you are allowed to increase your hand size (e.g. with pallando), is
it (a) optional to do so or is the player (b) obliged to do so?
*** b is correct.
NetRep #75 wrote:Player controling Pallando, Elrond in Rivendell, bearer
of Emerald of Mariner "may keep one more card than normal in his hand".
What exactly this mean:
a. at the end of movement/hazard phase and end of turn phase he
draw to increased hand size?
or
b.he do not draw, only if at the end of movement/hazard phase or
site phase he have more than 8 card he is not forced to discard rest?
If "a":
he must draw?
If "b":
he is not allowed to discard rest card?
*** You must draw up or discard down to your allowed hand size whenever
you reconcile your hand. If you hand size ever increases or decreases,
you have to deal with this the next time you reconcile your hand.

User avatar
Khamul the Easterling
Council Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: hand size increase optional?

Post by Khamul the Easterling » Fri May 17, 2019 6:10 pm

thank you. You're right and I was right, too :)
Thanks for quoting the sources!

dirhaval
Posts: 636
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:39 am

Re: hand size increase optional?

Post by dirhaval » Wed Jul 10, 2019 11:14 pm

Okay, I see the rulings. I will follow them.

But,
I disagree with them.
Book of Mazarbul specifically mentions hand size. Pallando and Emerald say "may" to keep cards in hand.
Yes, a ruling was made that Pallando and Emerald compound, which is smart.

Not drawing a card may help you not exhaust when you want too or avoid keeping too many good cards in hand. IMHO.

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 861
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: hand size increase optional?

Post by CDavis7M » Thu Jul 11, 2019 3:05 am

EZ PZ solution my friend. Just don't tap it.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2994
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: hand size increase optional?

Post by Bandobras Took » Thu Jul 11, 2019 1:52 pm

dirhaval wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 11:14 pm
Okay, I see the rulings. I will follow them.

But,
I disagree with them.
Book of Mazarbul specifically mentions hand size. Pallando and Emerald say "may" to keep cards in hand.
Yes, a ruling was made that Pallando and Emerald compound, which is smart.

Not drawing a card may help you not exhaust when you want too or avoid keeping too many good cards in hand. IMHO.
CRF wrote:Effects which increase your hand size or allow you to hold one more card in your hand mean that you draw up to your new hand size or discard down to it at the appropriate points during the game.
The CRF tells us what it means, and there is no "may" in "you draw up to your new hand size . . . at the appropriate points during the game."

Each effect allows you one more card than normal. You have your normal hand, then Pallando's one more card than normal, then the Emerald's one more card than normal.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Rules & Errata”