I know the rule. However, Thrall of the Voice is not an "appropriate card" that allows a Fallen Wizard player to play Orcs or Trolls:
ICE Digest 55 wrote:Craig Ichabod O'Brien Mar 12, 1998 12:00 AM
>Can Thrall of the Voice be played to play a Troll character when Bad Company is
>not in play?
The MEWH rules on playing Orcs and Trolls are not allowances, they are restrictions. Bad Company and Strident Spawn are "appropriate cards" because they specifically reference and overcome the restriction on playing Orcs. Thrall of the Voice does not reference the restriction on playing Orcs and Trolls, so it does not overcome it.ICE Digest 88 wrote:Question: Hey, I was wondering if anyone could answer me this question... While a fallen wizard, do you need to have Bad Company in play to play with Half-Orc characters??
Answer: Either that or a Strident Spawn. That is required to bring them into play. Once they are in play the no longer care.
This is not a situation where the rules on "bringing characters into play" during the organization phase allows a player to play characters according to one set of conditions and then A Chance Meeting, We have Come to Kill, and Thrall of the Voice allow a player to play characters according to another set of conditions.
This is a situation where the rules restrict the player from playing Orcs and Trolls and those restrictions apply to any situation, whether the character is played according to the rules on "bringing characters into play" or any other card effect.
If Thrall of the Voice would bypass the MEWH restriction that "You may not play Orc and Troll characters until you have played the appropriate card" such that a FW player could play Orcs and Trolls, then A Chance Meeting would bypass the restriction that "Fallen-wizards may not play characters with more than five mind" such that a FW player could play Elrond.