Foolish Words on-guard
- Shapeshifter
- Ex Council Member
- Posts: 625
- Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
May I reveal an on-guard Foolish Words and place it on a character that makes an influence attempt and was just brought into play during the site phase?
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3157
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
The CRF allows you to reveal the card to affect the influence attempt even though the target of the card did not exist in the movement/hazard phase.CRF wrote:You may reveal a card in response to an influence attempt against a faction even if the on-guard card only has an effect if the attempt is successful. You may also reveal a card in response to such an attempt that affects the actual influence attempt.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
From what such conclusion?Bandobras Took wrote:The CRF allows you to reveal the card to affect the influence attempt even though the target of the card did not exist in the movement/hazard phase.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3157
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
CRF wrote:Rules Erratum: An on-guard card may only be revealed if it could have also been played during the movement/hazard phase. This means all targets of the card must have existed during the movement/hazard phase in order for the card to be revealed.
I've always viewed the second quote as stating an exception to the main rule, but I could be mistaken.CRF wrote:You may reveal a card in response to an influence attempt against a faction even if the on-guard card only has an effect if the attempt is successful. You may also reveal a card in response to such an attempt that affects the actual influence attempt.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
If second quote would be read as exception/alternative condition from first quote, then following would be read in such way too:
I understand it in such way that all specified situations "when On-Guard may be revealed" must still follow restrictions "which On-Guards may be revealed", as well as "which On-Guards may not be revealed".
Right?CRF, Turn Sequence, Site Phase, On-Guard Cards wrote:An on-guard card may be revealed when the company plays a resource that
potentially taps the site. The card must affect the company or a character in the
company that site phase. Note that this clarification is looser than the rule printed on
p.61 of the Unlimited Rules book
I understand it in such way that all specified situations "when On-Guard may be revealed" must still follow restrictions "which On-Guards may be revealed", as well as "which On-Guards may not be revealed".
CRF, Turn Sequence, Site Phase, On-Guard Cards wrote:A card cannot be revealed that:
• Returns a company to its site of origin
• Taps a company's site
• Potentially removes a character from a company, besides combat or corruption
checks
• Forces a company to do nothing during its site phase
• Directly taps a character in the company
A card that potentially removes an ally from the company can be revealed, so long as
it otherwise is legal.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
In the WC 2 years ago it was ruled that you can reveal a foolish words, when you could have played it in the movement/hazard phase, no matter on which character of the company!
=> Means if all characters of the company have foolish words on them in m/h, you can not reveal foolish words on guard because it was not playable during m/h.
In all other cases it could be revealed on guard and then the card is playable on the influencing character even if he is a new character or if he had foolish words on him during m/h (that was removed after the m/h phase e.g. by marvelous tolds). I think the second case happens quite often and therefore is even more important than the first!
Cheers
Heiner
=> Means if all characters of the company have foolish words on them in m/h, you can not reveal foolish words on guard because it was not playable during m/h.
In all other cases it could be revealed on guard and then the card is playable on the influencing character even if he is a new character or if he had foolish words on him during m/h (that was removed after the m/h phase e.g. by marvelous tolds). I think the second case happens quite often and therefore is even more important than the first!
Cheers
Heiner
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
"all targets of the card must have existed during the movement/hazard phase"
is subset of:
"[the card] could have also been played during the movement/hazard phase".
Right?
is subset of:
"[the card] could have also been played during the movement/hazard phase".
Right?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
isnt the most important sentence about this question printed on the card??? I mean there is "if played on guard, it may be revealed..." Doesnt that overrule anything we know about what cards may be revealed when played onguard?
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
You are right.
I've completely overlooked this part of text the Foolish Words.

I've completely overlooked this part of text the Foolish Words.

We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.