CoE Digest #210 Q2 - An Untimely Brood

Post Reply
User avatar
DamienX207
Council Chairman
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:53 pm

How many allies can be played with An Untimely Brood each turn?

For reference, this is the original text of An Untimely Brood:
Playable if you are Radagast or Alatar and have 6 or more stage points and a protected Wizardhaven. One non-unique ally with a mind of 1 is playable at one of your tapped or untapped protected Wizardhavens each of your site phases. Cannot be duplicated by a given player.
Given that each of your companies has its own site phase, some confusion arises due to An Untimely Brood’s use of “each of your site phases.” There was also confusion expressed during the 2019 ARV as to whether this effect was limited in the first place, given that it doesn’t use the word “only”.

It is this committee’s opinion that, while the wording is admittedly not as clear as it could be, ICE’s intentions with the card were clear: “one” ally may be played at “one” Wizardhaven, and once this “one” ally is played during a site phase, the effect doesn’t allow for additional allies to be played during the same turn. In the interest of clarifying how this card actually works, we are issuing the following errata:

Replace “each of your site phases” with “during any of your site phases but only once each turn”.
Playable if you are Radagast or Alatar and have 6 or more stage points and a protected Wizardhaven. One non-unique ally with a mind of 1 is playable at one of your tapped or untapped protected Wizardhavens during any of your site phases but only once each turn. Cannot be duplicated by a given player.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4481
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

I think that there is another problem with text of An Untimely Brood.
"may be played" and "is playable" are not synonymous. Resource may be playable at some site even if (for some reason) may not be played here and vice versa.

"One non-unique ally with a mind of 1 is playable at one of your tapped or untapped protected Wizardhavens each of your site phases. "
literally means that among others that Mistress Lobelia may tap to search for Noble Hound in discard pile and player takes it in his hand (then plays it later where it may be played or use as condition for Come at Need).

"One non-unique ally with a mind of 1 is playable at one of your tapped or untapped protected Wizardhavens each of your site phases."
should be replaced with:
"Once per turn one non-unique ally with a mind of 1 may be played at one of your tapped or untapped protected Wizardhavens each of your site phases."
to achieve the effect that player once per turn may play one non-unique ally with a mind of 1 at one of your tapped or untapped protected Wizardhavens in site phase.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Drafts”