Environment Effects vs. Targets

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

CRF, M/H Phase wrote:Once the effects of an environment card have been applied to a target during a given movement/hazard phase, that effect is not applied again to that target during the current turn.
CRF, Targets wrote:Long-events and certain other cards do not have targets because they are not played out through one specific entity, i.e., they generally affect an entire class of things.
Long Winter does not target any of the sites it taps.

Morgul Night does not target any of the regions it changes.

Given my understanding of Passive Conditions/Continuous Effects, wouldn't these cards take effect whenever a valid condition comes up (untapped site with two Wildernesses in site path, Wilderness/Shadowland)?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

1.
Long-events itself does not have a target.
Actions described in text of these long-events (activated by passive condition) may have a target.

2.
Long Winter does not target any of the sites it taps.

Morgul Night does not target any of the regions it changes.
Rules are referring both to the results of actions and to the on-going effects as to the just "effects". (Some exceptions - Searching Eye, Noose of The Sea).
That may be confusing.

I don't think that on-going effects are applicated to the target or to the anything.

Results of actions by its nature cannot be interrupted or canceled (you cannot cancel things like "card nas been discarded", "company has been returned to its site of origin".

However site/region treated as site/region of other type may be no longer treated as such (on-going effect of Morgul Night, New Moon etc.).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”