Monstrosity of Diverse Shape - memory of cards

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3154
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Why wouldn't it? Regiment specifically cancels an attack, so if it was used on Fell Turtle, Fell Turtle attacked the company that turn.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4475
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

From where would you know that Fell Turtle in discard pile is (physically) the same Fell Turtle that has been returned to hand and then discarded but not its copy? From where would you know that Fell Turtle that has been returned to hand has been discarded?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3154
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

You don't, unless all three copies are in the discard pile, but if your opponent is *that* determined to cheat, the rules won't matter anyway.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4475
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

It looks like that sometimes "This card must have already attacked the company this turn" must be physically the same card, sometimes copy of the card is sufficient.
If "This card" is at play surface then it must be physically the same card (condition impossible to fulfill), otherwise no.
Additionally if a "This card" leaved a play surface, did not reach discard pile, copy of the card from discard pile is not sufficient.

Right?

I am for treating terms and phrases uniformly.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4475
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

As I am for treating terms and phrases uniformly, I am also for expressing some ideas directly.

If some idea is e.g.:

"This card that is placed in discard pile must be the same card that was attacking a company and only if it is impossible to determine whether it is the same card or its copy, then a copy is sufficient". (Artificial rule in my opinion).

then the idea may be expressed just as above.

Even if it looks awkwardly it at least does not create a space for double standards.

Example of card where (probably) some idea has not been expressed directly is The Dragons: Here, There, or Yonder.
If idea was to prevent a playing of an ally that would be discarded if his company would move to a given [-me_rl-] site, then the idea has not been expressed directly.
Instead it has been said "and the ally is not restricted from moving in this site's region" that does not prevent a playing of Tom Bombadil under control of character at under-deeps [-me_rl-]. (Not disaster in my opinion).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
kober
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

The Balrog: Monstrosity of Diverse Shape
[..] once per turn the hazard player may use one against the hazard limit to play a Wolf or Animal hazard creature from his discard pile[...]
My apologies for possibly a silly question, but is the "one against the hazard limit" an additional cost, or the full cost of playing the creature?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4475
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Exhalation of Decay, In Great Wrath and some cards that cause immediate attack of agent contain phrase "(not counting against the hazard limit)".
CRF entry for Long Dark Reach (not errata) says:
The creature does not count against the hazard limit. A creature must be played if
there is one available.
For creature played according to effect of Monstrosity of Diverse Shape the creature itself is declared, it does not come into play at the moment when some other card is resolved and now is proceeded, like for Exhalation of Decay, In Great Wrath, Long Dark Reach.
kober wrote: Thu Jul 25, 2024 12:58 am My apologies for possibly a silly question, but is the "one against the hazard limit" an additional cost, or the full cost of playing the creature?
So it is full cost.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”