Prophet of Doom + Webs of Fear and Treachery

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
domse
Ex Council Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:55 am

I know this Combo is somewhat tricky and maybe powerful. But I feel myself unable to figure out how an influence attempt with the special ability of the prophet would be modified while Webs are in play. Can you help?
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Permanent-event
Pallando specific. Playable if you are Pallando and have at least 12 stage points and 5 factions in play. Pallando need not be at the appropriate site when making an influence attempt on an opponent's resource or character. Such an influence check is modified by half (rounded up) of Pallando's unused general influence (to a maximum of 10) instead of his unused direct influence. Subtract from the attempt the number of regions between Pallando's site and the site where the influence attempt would normally be made. Discard if you have fewer than 5 factions in play. Cannot be duplicated.
Except for unused general influence and unused normal direct influence (including influence modifications given in a character's card text), all modifications to each influence attempt are reduced to zero.
A literal interpretation would be that half of Pallando's unused General Influence is still General Influence, and therefore Webs will not affect it. However, Webs would remove the -1 per region modification.
Alter Tuk
Ex Council Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: Germany

And iirc your opponent wont be able to roll against your influence attempt as that would be a modification.
[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]
Bruce
Council Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Rome, Italy

Alter Tuk wrote:And iirc your opponent wont be able to roll against your influence attempt as that would be a modification.
I don't think so. IIRC the influence attempt is not a roll by a player against a certain value: it is rather two opposed rolls, one for each player, and who rolls higher wins (in case of a tie, the player resisting to the attempt wins).
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

· Add the influencing character's unused direct influence.
· Subtract your opponent's unused general influence points.
· Subtract the result of a roll (2D6) made by your opponent.
· Add any other modifications (from cards and special abilities). All modification cards must be played before either player makes a roll.
The opponent's roll is clearly considered as a modification to the influence roll.
Bruce
Council Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Rome, Italy

Wow :shock: :shock: :shock: , I'm going to dramatically re-evaluate WoF&T, looks like that card has potentially great practical uses...

Well, I've been lacking inspiration for some new funny deck lately, now I have something to work on... :P
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

It's worth noting that the NetRep team has the question under consideration -- but until they rule otherwise, the rules will be taken as they stand. ;)
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”