Ride Against the Enemy and Press Gang

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Ride Against the Enemy wrote:Playable on a company moving through a Wilderness if you have a character in your hand. Reveal the character. A single-strike hazard creature attack is made on the company with the attributes of the revealed character, except the prowess is increased by 7. Other cards have no effect on this attack. The attack is detainment if the revealed character and the company are both minion or both hero. If defeated, place the character in your opponent's marshalling point pile - he receives the character's marshalling points as kill points. Otherwise, discard the character.
Press Gang wrote:When a character would otherwise be discarded from play, discard all cards on him, place him "off to the side" with this card, and return any character already with this card to its owner's hand. A character with this card gives his player negative character marshalling points. Cannot be duplicated.
Would discarding a character through Ride Against the Enemy's attack fulfil Press Gang's requirement that a character be discarded "from play?"
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

If character was previously in play (even in such unusual way), I think yes.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Ringbearer
Ex Council Member
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:39 pm

I tend to disagree the character was in play. Its just revealed, and then discarded/eliminated. The card itself creates the attack, and it never mentions the card is in play/set aside so I assume its technically in your hand during the resolve of Ride Against The Enemy.
"I used to roll the dice, feel the fear in my enemies eyes."
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.

Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
Wacho
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA

It has been ruled that Ride Against the Enemy does bring the character into play (COE 39) so I think that Press-Gang would capture the character.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”