When is a company at a site?

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
the JabberwocK
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1156
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

On Tuesday, March 28, 2017, user Jose-San wrote:
Jose-san wrote:
Annotation 25: A company is considered to be at the site given by its site card at all times except from the moment their new site card is revealed during their movement/hazard phase until their old site card is discarded during the same movement/hazard phase. During this period a company is considered to be en route between sites and not at any site.
Removing the site of origin and resetting to hand size are simultaneous actions, and they are the last actions in any movement/hazard phase. This means a moving company is not at a site until the site phase.
Underline is mine. Doesn't the undelined phrase contradict the first paragraph?
This post has been re-created due to lost data and was originally posted by the author quoted above.
User avatar
the JabberwocK
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1156
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

On Tuesday, March 28, 2017, user Bandobras Took wrote:
Bandobras Took wrote:That's nothing. In order to tap a Ranger for River, the company must have moved to the site, which isn't complete until the start of the site phase, at which point it's too late to tap a Ranger for River. :)

There is a contradiction there, but "a moving company is not at a site until the site phase" is pretty ironclad.
This post has been re-created due to lost data and was originally posted by the author quoted above.
User avatar
the JabberwocK
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1156
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

On Tuesday, March 28, 2017, user Jose-san wrote:
Jose-san wrote:
Bandobras Took wrote:There is a contradiction there, but "a moving company is not at a site until the site phase" is pretty ironclad.
I don't know. Take the whole second paragraph:

"Removing the site of origin and resetting to hand size are simultaneous actions, and they are the last actions in any movement/hazard phase. This means a moving company is not at a site until the site phase."

Why the first sentence mean the second? It doesn't make sense.
This post has been re-created due to lost data and was originally posted by the author quoted above.
User avatar
the JabberwocK
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1156
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

On Tuesday, March 28, 2017, user Bandobras Took wrote:
Bandobras Took wrote:"It doesn't make any sense" is a fairly good description of ICE's overall rules logic. I can't explain why they said what they said, only that they said what they said. I also can't explain how Rank Upon Rank creates a passive condition, but apparently it does.
This post has been re-created due to lost data and was originally posted by the author quoted above.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”