Galadhrim

Any rule erratum or clarification submission for the upcoming 2018 ARV should be posted here.
Post Reply
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3436
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Galadhrim

Post by Konrad Klar »

Galadhrim wrote:Elves. Three strikes. Detainment and -2 prowess against hero companies. Playable keyed to Lindon, Rhudaur, Wold & Foothills, or Anfalas; or at non-Haven sites in these regions. Each character wounded by this attack must discard all items he bears. '...they dwell now deep in the woods and far from the northern border.' -LotRII
Because text does not state that discarding of items takes place after attack, and because attack itself cannot wound I propose the following erratum:

Elves. Three strikes. Detainment and -2 prowess against hero companies. Playable keyed to Lindon, Rhudaur, Wold & Foothills, or Anfalas; or at non-Haven sites in these regions. Each character wounded by strike of this attack must discard all items he bears. '...they dwell now deep in the woods and far from the northern border.' -LotRII
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Jose-san
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: Galadhrim

Post by Jose-san »

For consistency with other cards with similar wording, I propose:

Elves. Three strikes. Detainment and -2 prowess against hero companies. Playable keyed to Lindon, Rhudaur, Wold & Foothills, or Anfalas; or at non-Haven sites in these regions. Each character wounded by Galadhrim must discard all items he bears.

Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3436
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Galadhrim

Post by Konrad Klar »

Accepted.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 1903
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Galadhrim

Post by CDavis7M »

What is an "attack" but one or more "strikes"? The expression "this attack" means the "three strikes" created by this card.

There is no confusion

Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3436
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Galadhrim

Post by Konrad Klar »

If instead:
Each character wounded by this attack must discard all items he bears.

the text would be:
Each character wounded by this card must discard all items he bears.

there would not be a confusion too.

We know that the card creates an attack with three strikes.

But ultimately strikes wound, not attacks, not cards.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 1903
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Galadhrim

Post by CDavis7M »

Konrad Klar wrote:
Thu Aug 13, 2020 9:15 pm
But ultimately strikes wound, not attacks, not cards.
Ultimately, an attack is just one or more strikes. A strike of an attack can wound. An attack can wound.

Post Reply

Return to “2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions”