CoE Digest #209 Q2 - Great Ship used during the site phase

Locked
User avatar
Manuel
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 543
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:31 am

Can you use Great Ship’s ability during the site phase, such as to cancel an on-guard card?

Short answer: No.

Explanation:

Many players have wondered about Great Ship’s “until the end of the turn” clause, and whether it means that characters can be tapped to cancel a hazard at any point for the rest of the turn in which Great Ship has been played.

For reference, here is the original text of Great Ship from METW:
If company's current site path contains a coastal sea region, until the end of the turn any character in the company may tap to cancel the effects of one hazard that targets the company.
And here is its current text from the CRF:
Tap a character in target company during the organization phase to play Great Ship on that company. Until the end of the turn, if the company’s current site path contains a Coastal Sea region and no consecutive non‐Coastal Seas regions, any character in the company may tap to cancel a hazard that targets (as an active condition of playing the card itself) the company or an entity associated with the company.
It is easy to see how, in either case (and especially the Limited printing), a potential interpretation would be that the ability can be used at any time so long as the company moves through a Coastal Sea region at some point during that turn. However, the Challenge Deck version of Great Ship makes it clearer that this is not the case:
Tap a character to play this card during your organization phase on his company. Any character in the company this turn may tap to cancel a hazard that targets the company. This may be: a hazard event that specifically targets the company or an entity in the company or a creature card. The company's site path must have a Coastal Sea and no consecutive non-Coastal Seas regions to do this.
This revised text from ICE clearly delineates that the effect itself lasts for the rest of the turn during which Great Ship was played, BUT that the company must have a site path that adheres to the Coastal Sea restriction at the time that a character is being tapped to discard a hazard.

Of course, according to the rules, a company doesn’t have a site path outside of its movement/hazard phase. Here are some relevant excerpts, first from METW Commonly Used Terms:
Site Path: The site path of a site is the sequence of regions between the site and its nearest Haven as listed on the site’s card. A company’s site path is the sequence of regions between its site of origin and its new site.
And from METW, Stater Rules, Movement:
Clarification: A “company’s site path” during its movement/hazard phase is the site path between its site of origin and its new site. On non-Haven site cards, the site path is provided on the top left border. On Haven cards, the site path to each of the two adjacent Havens is provided in the card text.
And finally, from MELE, Glossary:
Site Path, Company’s: The sequence of region (by name and by type) through which a moving company moves.
Because Great Ship only allows characters in the company to be tapped to discard a hazard “if the company’s current site path contains…”, and the company no longer has a site path outside of the movement/hazard phase, characters cannot be tapped for Great Ship’s ability during the site phase. This also makes sense thematically, since the the company is no longer in the ship once they’ve arrived at the site.

As for the question of whether a character could be tapped to cancel an on-guard card revealed during the site phase but placed during the movement/hazard phase, some players might mistakenly refer to this excerpt from the CRF, Turn Sequence Rulings, Site Phase, On-guard cards:
A revealed on-guard card retroactively takes effect as though it were both declared and resolved immediately prior to the chain of effects during which it was revealed.
However, the line “immediately prior to the chain of effects during which it was revealed” references a specific moment in the turn that is still part of the site phase, i.e. after the company has already chosen to enter the site, potentially face any automatic-attacks, etc., and definitively after the movement/hazard phase has ended and the company no longer has a site path. Therefore, Great Ship can’t be used against a revealed on-guard card.
www.meccg.com
Locked

Return to “CoE Rulings Digest #209”