Manifestations of unique characters

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Balin
Ex Council Member
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 5:01 pm
Location: Madrid
Contact:

We all know when an avatar comes into play, any manifestation of him is discarded (i.e. Radagast as a wizard discards Radagast the Tamer). What happens if you try to play Galadriel as a character when Lady of the Golden Wood is already in play?

I can't find a clear rule about this.

Thanks in advance.
__

Let them come! There is one dwarf yet in Moria that still draws breath!
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Hazard Manifestations of Radagast, etc. contain a statement on the cards that they are discarded if their character manifestation comes into play.

If a Manifestation lacks this phrase, then you may not play a different manifestation.
Ringbearer
Ex Council Member
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:39 pm

With of course the exception of dragons.
"I used to roll the dice, feel the fear in my enemies eyes."
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.

Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
Alter Tuk
Ex Council Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: Germany

Balin wrote:We all know when an avatar comes into play, any manifestation of him is discarded (i.e. Radagast as a wizard discards Radagast the Tamer). What happens if you try to play Galadriel as a character when Lady of the Golden Wood is already in play?

I can't find a clear rule about this..
Have a look at the DM rules book:
Certain entities (e.g., the Balrog, Gollum, Lobelia, etc.) have several different manifestations, each represented by a different MECCG card.

* If one manifestation of such an entity is already in play, you may not play another manifestation of the same entity.
* If an attack from a manifestation is defeated, the manifestation is removed from play and you may not play any further manifestations of the same entity.

Exception: Different manifestations of the same unique Dragon may be in play at the same time.

Note: If one card says that it is the manifestation of another card, these restrictions apply to both cards.
[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”