Page 1 of 1

Token of Goodwill

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 10:05 am
by Konrad Klar
Token of Goodwill wrote:Offering Attempt. Playable on a diplomat whose company is facing an attack of the type listed below. Target diplomat makes a corruption check. If he does not fail, discard an item from his company (as listed below), and make a roll (or draw a #) adding the diplomat's unused direct influence. If the result is greater than the listed values, the attack is canceled, and you may take one resource from your play deck or discard pile into your hand (reshuffle play deck if searched). Against a Dragon: greater item/5, against a Drake: major item/6, against men, Slayer, or any Agent: minor item/7.
Only target of the card is a diplomat in specified company. Only declared action caused by the card is a corruption check (made by the diplomat).
Whether the company is able to discard an item, is so important as whether the diplomat is able to make a corruption check (ally-diplomat is not able).
It is not required by the card, and flow of the execution of the card does not rely on it, but at least presence of the diplomat is condition of the card, however presence of an item of given type is not.

Proposed erratum:

Offering Attempt. Playable on a diplomat whose company is facing an attack of the type listed below and has an appropriate item. Target diplomat makes a corruption check. If he does not fail, discard an item from his company (as listed below), and make a roll (or draw a #) adding the diplomat's unused direct influence. If the result is greater than the listed values, the attack is canceled, and you may take one resource from your play deck or discard pile into your hand (reshuffle play deck if searched). Against a Dragon: greater item/5, against a Drake: major item/6, against men, Slayer, or any Agent: minor item/7.

Re: Token of Goodwill

Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2018 1:57 pm
by Thorsten the Traveller
has anybody every played this for no effect and/or to make a cc? I see the shortcoming of the card, but how is it a problem?

Re: Token of Goodwill

Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:07 pm
by Bandobras Took
I agree that it's not urgent, but better language on cards isn't a bad thing in and of itself.

Re: Token of Goodwill

Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:39 pm
by Konrad Klar
Thorsten the Traveller wrote:
Sat Apr 14, 2018 1:57 pm
has anybody every played this for no effect and/or to make a cc? I see the shortcoming of the card, but how is it a problem?
Perhaps almost everybody tries to play a cards I though they were written correctly. Compelling reason for not making errata for cards at all.

And I did not say that in such case (no appropriate item in company, item cannot be discarded) there will be no effect. There will be the effect.
Token of Goodwill makes some action (discard) on item, but neither checks whether the action was successful, nor even requires an item in company at declaration.
Hour of Need requires a faction in player's hand, Long Grievous Siege (after errata) requires eligible site card in location deck.

Re: Token of Goodwill

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 10:29 pm
by Theo
Alternative wording suggestion:
Offering Attempt. Playable on a diplomat whose company is facing an attack of the type listed below. Target diplomat makes a corruption check. If he does not fail, discard an item from his company (as listed below) to make a roll (or draw a #) adding the diplomat's unused direct influence. If the result is greater than the listed values, the attack is canceled, and you may take one resource from your play deck or discard pile into your hand (reshuffle play deck if searched). Against a Dragon: greater item/5, against a Drake: major item/6, against men, Slayer, or any Agent: minor item/7.

Re: Token of Goodwill

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:08 am
by Konrad Klar
Great.

Now a company without appropriate item may count only for not failing cc. Nothing to offer, nothing to gain.