Duty to join companies during side phase

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Smaug
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 10:30 am
Location: Germany

Must 2 companies join during side phase (one was send back e.g. by beoring skin changers, one stayed) if

1. they where/started at the same haven side (one side card)
2. they where/started at the same hidden haven side (one side card)
3. they where/started at the same haven side (two side cards)
4. thery where/started at the same normal side

Thx for answering the question
Alter Tuk
Ex Council Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: Germany

[deleted due to a mistaken comment. thanks for clarifying guys! ;-)]
Last edited by Alter Tuk on Tue Jun 16, 2009 5:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.
[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

CRF, Tun Sequence, Movement/Hazard Phase, General wrote:Companies at the same non-Haven/non-Darkhaven site must join at the end of all
movement/hazard phases, before the site phase starts. Companies at the same Haven/
Darkhaven site may join at this time.
1. May join.
2. May join.
3. May join.
4. Must join.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Smaug
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 10:30 am
Location: Germany

I thought like Martin before, so yes must join always if only 1 side card, but it was played different against me at hidden haven.

I remember that it was ruled some years ago like this because a deck lorien scatter deck always running in its own snowstorms to easterlings camp drawing 4 cards without any risk and than playing something at the haven. So it was ruled that there must be a separed lorien for the company send back in order to play something during side phase.

So what is the actual ruling still confused!

Anyway thx for the answer

Heiner
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

You can have any number of Haven Cards in your location deck. With Hidden Haven on a given site, you have only one copy of that Haven, and so there is only one site card to return to. Nevertheless, the rules allow for two separate companies at a haven to be represented by one site card.

At any instance where a company is sent back to any Haven where another company stayed, they do not have to join.

Companies must join at non-haven sites.
Sauron
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 3:27 pm

Yes as cheezy as it is, you may definatly have multiple companies at 1 haven site card that do not join.

If anyone is wondering I was the one who did this :)

Please refer to Konrad's CRF post.
Leon
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:18 pm

In fact, playing a new character at a new copy of the haven where your wizard is and joining after the movement phase is a way to untap havens.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”