Another question about playability of factions

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Ice-orcs wrote:Unique. Playable at any Ruins & Lairs [R] in Forochel or Withered Heath if the influence check is greater than 10. Once in play, the number required to influence this faction is 0. Standard Modifications: Wargs of Forochel (+2).
Simplest scenario (1): Ice-orcs is in play, Trouble On All Borders is played on it.
No site located in Forochel is in play. However players knows that in Forochel exists Ruins&Lairs (Lossadan Cairn) where Ice-orcs is playable thus any company moving trough Forochel or adjecent regions will be attacked.

Not so simple scenario (2): Ice-orcs is in play, Trouble On All Borders is played on it.
One's player copy of Lossadan Cairn is in play and is changed to Border-Hold (by Rebuild The Town).

Complex scenario (3): Ice-orcs is in play, Trouble On All Borders is played on it.
All's player copies of Lossadan Cairn are in play and all are changed to Border-Hold or Shadow-Hold (with Hold Rebuilt and Repaired).

Is in scenario (3) Ice-orcs still considered playable at one of sites in Forochel? How about scenario (2)?

Any thoughts?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Ringbearer
Ex Council Member
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:39 pm

Scenario 1 is obvious.

Scenario 2: I would say it still effects Forochel. The faction targetted is a minion faction, and assuming its not a FW player who played double dealing to play rebuild the check would be against his Forochel, as he can play the faction there.

Scenario 3: I would say no, as the player controlling the faction cant play Ice Orcs there anymore.


IN my answers I go for the fact that Trouble is played on a minion faction, and that the player who playe dthe faction has to check for sites... because youc ant play Ice Orcs at a hero Lossadan Cairn anyway (unless maybe with double dealing and FW).
"I used to roll the dice, feel the fear in my enemies eyes."
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.

Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

There is a difference between whether you can play something or whether something is playable.

I think the question is simply:

For cards such as Trouble on all Borders, whose site should be used for the "playable at" listed on a faction?

My guess would be the player of the faction. Given that interpretation:

1) Yes, it works.

2) It depends on whose Lossadan Cairn the event was played on. Same player as Ice-Orcs -- no, Trouble will not work. Different player -- yes.

3) Assuming the controlling player if the Ice-Orcs has an event on his copy of Lossadan Cairn changing its site type, then Trouble would no work.

There is a similar question with agents who move to a site of different type: an agent may not move to a Wizardhaven even though that site might by a free-hold in your own deck, but when an agent taps to make creatures playable, whose site is used for the determination?
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”