Is this combination possible?
LDR:
Hazard Short-event
Playable on a moving company with at least one Wilderness in its site path if you have at least 10 cards in your play deck. Reveal the top seven cards of your play deck. One revealed Nazgûl, Dragon, or a non-unique creature of your choice immediatly attacks the company (regardless of its playability requirements). The creature must be playable in a region besides Coastal Sea. If the creature could not normally be played on the company, modify its prowess by -4. Shuffle all unused cards and return them to the top of your play deck.
WFB:
Drake. Three strikes. Attacker chooses defending characters. Unless this attack is cancelled, all untapped characters in defending company are tapped following attack. Two Shadow-lands [s] in site path are required.
Long Dark Reach and Wild Fell Beast?
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Yes (where is problem?).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
"In some region" is not the same as "keyed to region".
What means "in some region"?
In may opinion craeatures not playable in some region besides Coastal Sea are creatures that may be played keyed to Coastal Sea and/or at site in Cosastal Sea and/or under-deep site only.
Where attack from WFB takes place? In some non-Coastal Sea region, or in some non-Coastal Sea regions at route from Lorien to Dead Marshes?
What means "in some region"?
In may opinion craeatures not playable in some region besides Coastal Sea are creatures that may be played keyed to Coastal Sea and/or at site in Cosastal Sea and/or under-deep site only.
Where attack from WFB takes place? In some non-Coastal Sea region, or in some non-Coastal Sea regions at route from Lorien to Dead Marshes?
Lidless Eye, Starter Rules, Playing and Drawing Cards, Creature Cards wrote:Clarification: Two Wilderness symbols are required in a site path to play a deep Wilderness creature. However, the two symbols need not be adjacent in the site path. For example, a deep Wilderness creature may be played keyed to the site path: wbbw. If a company travels with two Wilderness in its site path, the chance of encountering very dangerous Wilderness monsters has doubled, even if the two Wildernesses are not adjacent.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
First of all I think the quote from LDR should say "a region" instead of "some region" (the card says "a region" and GCCG "some region" but there is no errata like that about LDR).
Second, I don't get the idea that a creature requiring
to be played would "attack" in only one spesific region. The creature in this case is keyed to the sitepath as a whole, not any spesific regions. If you want a story with that, I'd say the creature simply attacks sometime during the company's travel.
Second, I don't get the idea that a creature requiring
![Shadow Land [-me_sl-]](./images/smilies/me_sl.png)
![Shadow Land [-me_sl-]](./images/smilies/me_sl.png)
Therefore I think LDR should be able to only get creatures that require a single (non-coastal) region to be played in.MELE Starter Rules: Playing and Drawing Cards: Creature Cards wrote:Clarification: Two wilderness symbols are required in a site path to play a deep Wilderness creature. However, the two symbols need not be adjacent in the site path. For example, a deep Wilderness creature may be played keyed to the site path: w b b w.
-
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 6:57 am
Of course its legal. If you have used the correct text then 'Some' is actually plural. I'm sure I have read an ICE example stating this is legal.
Ehh. The correct version is "a region", not "some region".sly southerner wrote:Of course its legal. If you have used the correct text then 'Some' is actually plural.
And I'm sure I have never read such a thing... Unless you can tell us where you read it, that doesn't help.sly southerner wrote:I'm sure I have read an ICE example stating this is legal.
Miguel is right, it is "a region." The Dutch Council spoiler list where I copied and pasted it from has it as "some region."
Regardless, WFB is still playable in a region other than coastal sea. I think the card is just referring to regions as singular because that's what they are in reality. Double wildnerness is still wilderness region and likewise double shadow-land is still shadow-land. We often hear how ICE's text on some cards isn't ideal and shouldn't be read to deeply, and maybe this is just another case of such a card?
In the true literal meaning how could a creature be keyed to two regions ( unless of course the size of the creature was so vast to span...)
Regardless, WFB is still playable in a region other than coastal sea. I think the card is just referring to regions as singular because that's what they are in reality. Double wildnerness is still wilderness region and likewise double shadow-land is still shadow-land. We often hear how ICE's text on some cards isn't ideal and shouldn't be read to deeply, and maybe this is just another case of such a card?
In the true literal meaning how could a creature be keyed to two regions ( unless of course the size of the creature was so vast to span...)

I must make a clarification to my original statement, just in case. You key the Wild Fell Best to the site path, but you must still spesify the regions a creature is keyed to as well. But note that a sitepath of
requires you to only say you key WFB to
, but you do not need to spesify which two of the three shadow-lands you are using...
Anyhoo, back on subject:
To me LDR's "a region besides
" means the same as "a
or
or
or
or
or any region like this spesified by name".
![Shadow Land [-me_sl-]](./images/smilies/me_sl.png)
![Shadow Land [-me_sl-]](./images/smilies/me_sl.png)
![Shadow Land [-me_sl-]](./images/smilies/me_sl.png)
![Shadow Land [-me_sl-]](./images/smilies/me_sl.png)
![Shadow Land [-me_sl-]](./images/smilies/me_sl.png)
Anyhoo, back on subject:
Angmar Arises wrote:Any creature that can be keyed to a Shadow-landmay be keyed to Forochel...
According to this, there indeed is a difference between creatures requiring one region to be played and those requiring more.CRF: Turn Sequence Rulings: Movement/Hazard Phase: Playing Hazards wrote:Angmar Arises, In Darkness Bind Them, and Reaching Shadow may not be used to play creatures keyed to double shadow-lands.
To me LDR's "a region besides
![Coastal Sea [-me_cs-]](./images/smilies/me_cs.png)
![Free Domain [-me_fd-]](./images/smilies/me_fd.png)
![Border Land [-me_bl-]](./images/smilies/me_bl.png)
![Wilderness [-me_wi-]](./images/smilies/me_wi.png)
![Shadow Land [-me_sl-]](./images/smilies/me_sl.png)
![Dark Domain [-me_dd-]](./images/smilies/me_dd.png)
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
I don't see reasons to reading strictly some singular/plural forms of wordings if they are not worded strictly itself.Jambo wrote:We often hear how ICE's text on some cards isn't ideal and shouldn't be read to deeply, and maybe this is just another case of such a card?
And nothing about creatures played "in region". Angmar Arises says about creatures keyed toCRF wrote:A creature "played at" a site is the same as being "keyed to" the site.
A creature "played at a site in" a region is the same as being "keyed to" the site by name.
![Shadow Land [-me_sl-]](./images/smilies/me_sl.png)
![Dark Domain [-me_dd-]](./images/smilies/me_dd.png)
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
According to that CRF entry, it makes perfect sense to me to treat "playable in a region" as "keyable to a region". What else could it possibly mean?Konrad Klar wrote:And nothing about creatures played "in region". Angmar Arises says about creatures keyed toCRF wrote:A creature "played at" a site is the same as being "keyed to" the site.
A creature "played at a site in" a region is the same as being "keyed to" the site by name.or
-
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 6:57 am
Hmm, you may be right I cant find any reference to support by comment above, its just the way I've always played it.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
So all creatures playable at site only (e.g. Assasin) cannot be used with Long Dark Reach in your opinion?miguel wrote:According to that CRF entry, it makes perfect sense to me to treat "playable in a region" as "keyable to a region". What else could it possibly mean?Konrad Klar wrote:And nothing about creatures played "in region". Angmar Arises says about creatures keyed toCRF wrote:A creature "played at" a site is the same as being "keyed to" the site.
A creature "played at a site in" a region is the same as being "keyed to" the site by name.or
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3157
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
That sounds right to me. The creatures must be playable in a region -- there is no region where an assassin is playable.