
I have come across some additional questions that I would be very grateful to have answered. Thanks in advance and please forgive me if I ask a question which was already clarified in the rules somewhere.
1) Untapped characters must be assigned strikes from an attack before tapped or wounded
characters can be assigned strikes. Does this rule also apply to allies in the company? Must an
untapped ally face a strike (if he can legally do so), before allowing the hazard player to assign
strikes to tapped or wounded characters?
2) Please confirm: a hazard creature card which states: "Attacker chooses defending characters" can also choose to target an
ally in the company because allies act as characters for the purposes of combat, correct?
3) At the beginning of my turn I have four characters at Rivendell: Glorfindel, Elrohir, Cirdan
and Elladan. Elladan is under Cirdan's direct influence and I am currently using all of my 20
general influence. Cirdan also possesses an Elf Stone. Celeborn is in my hand and I would like to play him under Cirdan's
direct influence and bring Elladan back to my hand. Is this possible
and what are the rules which manage this decision? Can you exceed your general influence
maximum during your organization phase as long as it is corrected by the end of the
organization phase? Additionally, are there any restrictions on bringing characters back to your
hand? Could you bring a character back to your hand during your organization phase for any
reason? What happens to items or permanent events on a character when he is brought back to
your hand? What if I wanted to bring Elrohir back to my hand instead of Elladan, and simply
move Elladan out from under Cirdan's direct influence and into my General Influence? Are there any restrictions or
differences here?
4) This question deals with the same concepts as the question above. What if my opponent plays
a Rebel-Talk on one of my characters who is being controlled by direct influence and this causes me to exceed my General
Influence allowance of 20? Do I wait until my next organization phase to make changes? When is the target character removed
from direct influence, immediately or during my next organization phase? Once my General Influence of
20 is exceeded, do I need to respond by bringing a character back to my hand? What if I choose
to bring the character back to my hand who has the Rebel-Talk played on it, is the Rebel-Talk
then discarded?
5) Can you tap Akhorahil (permanent event) and use his -1 to body effect AFTER a body check
roll has been made on a wounded character? Essentially, if you can use this ability as an
interrupt to eliminate a character once a body check roll is made that ties a character's body it
could be quite useful. Alternatively, if you have to use his ability before the roll is made, it doesn't seem like it would be that
useful.
6) Was the text on the character Gloin corrected to state "+2 direct influence against Blue
Mountain Dwarves faction" instead of "against Blue Mountain Dwarves"? I seemed to recall
reading about this clarification somehwere but I don't see Gloin listed in the errata section of
the Universal Rules doc.
7) I understand that any item except for The One Ring can be stored at a haven, and that the
character storing the item must make a successful corruption check to store it. What if I have
a character who is carrying 3 items and he wants to store them all? Does he have to pass a
single corruption check to store all 3? Or does he have to make 3 separate corruption checks
with each corruption check being modified to not include corruption points from the item(s) he
has already stored? Also, is storing items only done during the organization phase?
8 ) I understand that allies are considered to be characters only for the purposes of combat and
skill use. Roac the Raven has the skill of a diplomat, thus can you play a Lordly Presence on
him when attempting to bring in a faction? What about other cards like A Friend or Three?
Generally speaking, allies can not attempt to bring factions into play unless specifically stated
that they can like with Roac, is this correct? Could I play A Friend or Three on Roac during a
faction influence attempt?
9) The errata on the hazard creature Buthrakaur the Green states: "Any hazard creatures played
using the ability of Buthrakaur the Green need not be keyed to anything and are in fact not
keyed to anything." So if I am understanding this correctly, it means that I could unload my
entire hand of non-unique orcs and trolls on the company in question and completely ignore
whether or not they can legally be keyed to the site or regions in question and none of which
count against the hazard limit. Is this right? Also, to be able to use this ability, what is
considered to be having "faced" Buthrakaur that turn? If Dark Quarrels is used for example to cancel the attack by Buthrakaur,
then he hasn't been "faced" and thus you couldn't use his
special ability to play additional hazard creatures, correct?
10) In the Universal Rules Document by B. Took when discussing the Sideboard, he states:
"The sideboard can contain any mix of resources, characters, and hazards, so long as
you do not duplicate non-unique cards."
Is this a mis-print and does he mean to say "so long as you do not duplicate unique cards."??
Surely you can duplicate non-unique cards in your sideboard, just as you can have duplicates
in your play deck, right? If I am correct here, I would like to suggest an amendement to the
URL in this regard.
11) Am I allowed to look through my discard pile at any time?
12) Am I correct that you do not have to enter the site (and face automatic attacks) in order to play
cards like The Windlord Found Me (or any other non-item, faction, ally cards which don't specify that you must enter the site
to play them)?
13) In regards to Dreams of Lore - again, I am not entering the site here, correct? I am only tapping
the site and thus don't have to face any automatic attacks right? Does this mean that it would be
impossible to play both Dreams of Lore AND an item at the same site during the same turn?
14) Is there any place to view the contents of the various Player's Guides online? It seems that most
of these are extremely expensive and I can't afford to purchase them, however I would very
much like to look over the contents.
15) There are no restrictions on sideboard balancing, correct? So I could have 30 hazards in my
sideboard and nothing else?
16) Elf-stone states: "+2 direct influence used against an Elf character or an Elf faction." Due to
the word "OR" which is used, am I correct in guessing that if the direct influence is being used
to control an Elf, that you can not also use the +2 bonus to influence an Elf faction? On the
other hand, if you used it to bring in an Elf faction first, you could then subsequently use it towards an Elf character by
placing the character under the direct influence of the character carrying the Elf-stone? The character Thrain II text states: "+3
direct influence against Dwarves
and Dwarf factions." Since his wording uses "AND" I am assuming that he can continually use
a +3 bonus towards dwarf characters and dwarf faction influence attempts at the same time,
correct? Finally, Glorfindel's text "+1 direct influence against Elves" can not be used as a bonus
to influence an elf faction can it?
17) The card The Moon is Dead states that "All Undead attacks receive +1 strike and +1 prowess.
All Undead automatic attacks are duplicated. Discard this card when an undead attack is
defeated." So my question is this: if I defeat the first automatic attack (and thus The Moon is
Dead is discarded), does the second (duplicate) automatic attack still exist and have to be faced?
If so, does this second automatic attack still get the +1 strike and prowess bonuses?