Breaking up/Blocking Anduril
I was wondering if I could use Neither so Ancient Nor so Potent or Which Might Be Lies to disrupt or break up someone pursuing Anduril. I'm a bit vague on the particulars of assembling it (I've seen it done once in a game, but I have a small group of friends that play so we get together infrequently) so I'm not sure that these cards could be employed. Are there other convenient ways to break up someone trying to re-assemble Anduril? Thanks for any help/advice/suggestions in advance.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3154
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
Neither So Ancient, no. It only works on items, and the only item involved is Narsil, which is typically not stored.
Which Might Be Lies will work on either Reforging or Anduril if either has been stored. The most likely candidate will be the Reforging, since Anduril is unique. There's a narrow window, though, because most people trying for the combo try to get both events before coming back to store so that there will be less of a wasted trip.
Which Might Be Lies will work on either Reforging or Anduril if either has been stored. The most likely candidate will be the Reforging, since Anduril is unique. There's a narrow window, though, because most people trying for the combo try to get both events before coming back to store so that there will be less of a wasted trip.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Hi again, Bandobras, and thanks. It seems like I always find you helping someone out with their questions
So, if I understand things correctly, the components needed to reforge Anduril are Narsil, Reforging, and Anduril. The player would have to play a Reforging and Anduril (at a site where information is playable) then go back to a haven to store them with Reforging being stored first so that Anduril can be stored and played by discarding Reforging. So, as a player trying to break this up, I would have to play Which Might Be Lies when the Reforging is stored so that he loses Reforging and can't pull out Andurril? Or would I play it on Anduril the moment he stores it, but before he gives it to a character?
Sorry, I'm just trying to figure out the timing and the small window you mention. And thanks again for being so helpful.

So, if I understand things correctly, the components needed to reforge Anduril are Narsil, Reforging, and Anduril. The player would have to play a Reforging and Anduril (at a site where information is playable) then go back to a haven to store them with Reforging being stored first so that Anduril can be stored and played by discarding Reforging. So, as a player trying to break this up, I would have to play Which Might Be Lies when the Reforging is stored so that he loses Reforging and can't pull out Andurril? Or would I play it on Anduril the moment he stores it, but before he gives it to a character?
Sorry, I'm just trying to figure out the timing and the small window you mention. And thanks again for being so helpful.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3154
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
You can't do either. Storing occurs in the organization phase. Hazards are played during the m/h phase. He would have had to restore the Reforging on previous turn from Anduril. A very narrow window.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Ah, dur, that's right. So, if I'm getting this right, the only way to pull it off would be if there's a turn between him storing Reforging and getting Anduril so that Which Might Be Lies can be played in the hazard phase in between the two - which, I assume, most people wouldn't do.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3154
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
Right.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3154
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
Not to my knowledge; there are specific instances such as Doors of Night for Environments or Echoes of the Song for Stage Resources.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
How about Call of Home?
When a character that is holding Narsil with Anduril rolls too low for Call of Home, and is returned to the player's hand, could Anduril be transferred together with Narsil?[...] Any one item held by a character removed in this fashion may automatically be transferred to another character in his company.
-
- Ex Council Member
- Posts: 1343
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:46 am
- Location: Kempen (Niederrhein) Germany
Anduril stays with Narsil
-
- Ex Council Member
- Posts: 1343
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:46 am
- Location: Kempen (Niederrhein) Germany
Well Anduril is placed with Narsil, and is considered 1 item, so if your were "Called Home" one would be stupid to not auto transfer Narsil with Anduril on it to another character in the company
I was actually wondering why the "all other non-follower cards he controls are discarded" section of Call of Home doesn't apply to Anduril. Isn't a permanent-event played on an item considered a card controlled by the item-holding character?
-
- Ex Council Member
- Posts: 1343
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:46 am
- Location: Kempen (Niederrhein) Germany
the items becomes one, as Anduril is placed on Narsil, otherwise one could not even transfer Narsil restored without loosing Anduril
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3154
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
Strictly speaking, according to the MELE rules, your characters only control followers, items, and allies. Other cards are played on something.
Of course, this brings up a separate issue with their definition of Corruption Point totals, but we won't go there.
Anduril, once placed with Narsil, is no longer played on a character. It can't be controlled by him because you can only control followers, items, and allies.MELE Rules, Resource Cards, Non-Event wrote:Normally, when a character leaves play, all cards controlled or on him are discarded. (Emphasis added).
Of course, this brings up a separate issue with their definition of Corruption Point totals, but we won't go there.

The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.