GREED -
The text states "When character makes one of these checks, it is modified by subtracting the corruption points the item would normally give the character if he controlled it."
So... if a character currently has 2 corruption points, and an item is played on a different character in his company, and this item has 3 corruption points...The non-receiving character makes a corruption check and rolls a 5. Now 3 is subtracted from the 5 which results in a 2.... this ties the character's corruption total of 2 and thus the character is discarded.
Am I interpreting this correctly?
MOTIONLESS AMONG THE SLAIN -
1) Can I assign all strikes to the same character? If so, are the excess strikes applied as -1 prowess modifiers as usual under normal circumstances?
2) The body check means if a character assigned a strike fails and is wounded, his body check roll by the hazard player is modified by +1 (making it easier to eliminate him)? Do I understand this correctly?
LONG GRIEVOUS SIEGE -
So if my opponent has played the faction "Men of Dale", I can play this card and pull out my own copy of the site Dale from my location deck to set off to the side with this card. Once this is done, my opponent has to return his Men of Dale faction to his hand and subsequent penalties/auto-attacks are applied if he tries to play it again (although this will likely be impossible because the site of Dale will be in his discard pile after playing the faction).
Do I have this correct? Is this essentially how this card is used or does it have a greater purpose that I'm missing?
Thanks for the help!
Need clarification on a few cards...
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3156
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
Greed -- yes.
Long Grievous Siege -- yes, that is just as broken as it sounds.
Motionless Among The Slain:
Assigning the strikes must follow the normal limits of assigning the strikes -- in other words, no character may be assigned multiple strikes without an ability which allows them to face such. You are correct about the body check roll.
Long Grievous Siege -- yes, that is just as broken as it sounds.
Motionless Among The Slain:
Assigning the strikes must follow the normal limits of assigning the strikes -- in other words, no character may be assigned multiple strikes without an ability which allows them to face such. You are correct about the body check roll.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4478
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
LONG GRIEVOUS SIEGE
You cannot target your opponent's resources (and characters) with your own resources. You could play Long Grievous Siege on your own copy of Men of Dale, put your Dale with Long Grievous Siege. In consequence the Men of Dale would be returned to your hand, Long Grievous Siege discarded and Dale site card placed in location deck. Story about Men of Dale besieging its own town (and themselves) would be short.
In such case it is better to use Lake-Town site card, not Dale site card IMO.
You cannot target your opponent's resources (and characters) with your own resources. You could play Long Grievous Siege on your own copy of Men of Dale, put your Dale with Long Grievous Siege. In consequence the Men of Dale would be returned to your hand, Long Grievous Siege discarded and Dale site card placed in location deck. Story about Men of Dale besieging its own town (and themselves) would be short.
In such case it is better to use Lake-Town site card, not Dale site card IMO.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
I think Jabberwock is trying to know how he can put his opponent's Men of Dale into hand with this card, and the answer is: playing Long Grievous Siege in your own copy of a faction playable in the same region or surroundings (Men of Dorwinion comes to my mind, maybe there are others).Konrad Klar wrote:LONG GRIEVOUS SIEGE
You cannot target your opponent's resources (and characters) with your own resources. You could play Long Grievous Siege on your own copy of Men of Dale, put your Dale with Long Grievous Siege. In consequence the Men of Dale would be returned to your hand, Long Grievous Siege discarded and Dale site card placed in location deck. Story about Men of Dale besieging its own town (and themselves) would be short.
In such case it is better to use Lake-Town site card, not Dale site card IMO.
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4478
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Perhaps... 

We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- the JabberwocK
- Ex Council Chairman
- Posts: 1156
- Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am
Hey guys, thanks for the help!
I'm still confused in regards to Long Grievous Siege. Perhaps I should rephrase my question. What is the purpose of this card? If I can't play my resource on my opponent's resource faction and thus bounce his faction back to his hand, then how is this card used? Will someone kindly give me a scenario or 2 of how this card might be played in a game which illustrates why it is useful/powerful?
Thanks again!
I'm still confused in regards to Long Grievous Siege. Perhaps I should rephrase my question. What is the purpose of this card? If I can't play my resource on my opponent's resource faction and thus bounce his faction back to his hand, then how is this card used? Will someone kindly give me a scenario or 2 of how this card might be played in a game which illustrates why it is useful/powerful?
Thanks again!
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4478
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
You can play it on your faction, choose neighbor
(preferably such
where playable are factions that your opponent, not you, has in play). And enjoy 1 Misc MP.
E.g. you can play Long Grievous Siege on your Umbarean Corsairs, place Southron Oasis site card with LGS (Southron Oasis and Gobel Mirlond are in the same region).
In result Southrons, Haradrim, all copies of Wild Horses will be returned to their owner's hand, also all copies of A Panoply of Wings (unless Harondor is not
at time of resolution of Long Grievous Siege).
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
E.g. you can play Long Grievous Siege on your Umbarean Corsairs, place Southron Oasis site card with LGS (Southron Oasis and Gobel Mirlond are in the same region).
In result Southrons, Haradrim, all copies of Wild Horses will be returned to their owner's hand, also all copies of A Panoply of Wings (unless Harondor is not
![Wilderness [-me_wi-]](./images/smilies/me_wi.png)
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- the JabberwocK
- Ex Council Chairman
- Posts: 1156
- Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am
Thank you Mr. Klar!
I think I now understand. So it seems this card (at worst) gives you 1 extra MP and (at best) gives you 1 extra MP while wreaking havoc on your opponent if he happens to have factions which would be affected. Does this seem like an accurate assessment?
So the faction that I have in play is not affected in any other way? My faction stays in play and is still a normal source of faction MPs for me and can be targeted by any other cards which might normally target factions. Correct?
Also, just to clarify... In your example, A Panoply of Wings would be bounced back to my opponent's hand even if it was played all the way across the map in Arthedain region and my opponent's company is at the Grey Havens? All LGS is looking for is the playability of the faction and it doesn't care where the faction was actually played?
Thanks again!
I think I now understand. So it seems this card (at worst) gives you 1 extra MP and (at best) gives you 1 extra MP while wreaking havoc on your opponent if he happens to have factions which would be affected. Does this seem like an accurate assessment?
So the faction that I have in play is not affected in any other way? My faction stays in play and is still a normal source of faction MPs for me and can be targeted by any other cards which might normally target factions. Correct?
Also, just to clarify... In your example, A Panoply of Wings would be bounced back to my opponent's hand even if it was played all the way across the map in Arthedain region and my opponent's company is at the Grey Havens? All LGS is looking for is the playability of the faction and it doesn't care where the faction was actually played?
Thanks again!
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4478
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Yes. Plus additional automatic-attack at all versions of thethe Jabberwock wrote:I think I now understand. So it seems this card (at worst) gives you 1 extra MP and (at best) gives you 1 extra MP while wreaking havoc on your opponent if he happens to have factions which would be affected. Does this seem like an accurate assessment?
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
Yes.the Jabberwock wrote:So the faction that I have in play is not affected in any other way? My faction stays in play and is still a normal source of faction MPs for me and can be targeted by any other cards which might normally target factions. Correct?
Yes. For this reason I've choose Southron Oasis as example - to say that.the Jabberwock wrote:Also, just to clarify... In your example, A Panoply of Wings would be bounced back to my opponent's hand even if it was played all the way across the map in Arthedain region and my opponent's company is at the Grey Havens? All LGS is looking for is the playability of the faction and it doesn't care where the faction was actually played?
And the copy of
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
![Ruins & Lairs [-me_rl-]](./images/smilies/me_rl.png)
Long Grievous Siege refer to "any faction playable at the Border-Hold". References to the "any version", and to the "all versions" come in other sentences of the card.
P.S.
My shame... There is no minion version of Men of Dale.Konrad Klar wrote:You cannot target your opponent's resources (and characters) with your own resources. You could play Long Grievous Siege on your own copy of Men of Dale, put your Dale with Long Grievous Siege
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 5:38 am
Thanks again for the additional info Konrad!