Hide in Dark Places

Any rule erratum or clarification submission for the upcoming 2018 ARV should be posted here.
Post Reply
Jose-san
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Hide in Dark Places

Post by Jose-san »

I propose the following erratum be issued for this card (bold mine):

HIDE IN DARK PLACES
Scout only. Playable during the organization phase on a scout whose company will not move. All hazard creature attacks
against the scoutʹs company this turn are canceled.

Discused here:

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=2937

Because moving/not moving state is only defined during M/H phase.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2995
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Hide in Dark Places

Post by Bandobras Took »

I would put it as:

Scout only. Playable during the organization phase on a scout whose company has not declared a new site. Company may not declare a new site. All hazard creature attacks against the scoutʹs company this turn are canceled.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

Jose-san
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: Hide in Dark Places

Post by Jose-san »

Yes, that's better worded, thanks :)

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 1901
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Hide in Dark Places

Post by CDavis7M »

Jose-san wrote:
Mon Apr 30, 2018 9:54 am
Because moving/not moving state is only defined during M/H phase.
As mentioned in the Hidden Ways post, this is not necessarily true. The rules already describe a company as being a "moving company" before the company "is moving."
6·MOVEMENT

At the beginning of its movement/hazard phase, a moving company's current site card becomes its site of origin-the company is considered to be en route to its new site card (i.e., the company is moving).
The "moving company's current site becomes its site of origin." The company is already a "moving company" before their current site card becomes their site of origin, before "the company is moving." This could be worded better but it's still right there in the rules on Movement.

So, if a company does not have a new site to become their site of origin, clearly they are a "company that is not moving." There really is no confusion on Hide in Dark Places since it is played during the organization phase.

Post Reply

Return to “2018 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions”