this is the scenario:
my opponent moves to mount doom with scroll of isildur, he enters the site and test succefully the one ring, can i reveal the roving eye and force the ring bearer to make a cc? i guess this move is legal since during mov/haz phase there is a possible target for the roving eye's corruption check who is the bearer of the scroll. Am I right?
the roving eye played on guard...
-
- Ex Council Member
- Posts: 474
- Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:39 pm
As I recall ringtesting doesnt tap the site, so there is no go here.An on-guard card may be revealed when the company plays a resource that potentially taps the site. The card must affect the company or a character in the company that site phase. Note that this clarification is looser than the rule printed on page 61 of the Unlimited Rules book.
"I used to roll the dice, feel the fear in my enemies eyes."
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.
Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.
Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
as far as i understand an on-guard card doesn't MUST be revealed after tapping a site, it says MAY...Ringbearer wrote:As I recall ringtesting doesnt tap the site, so there is no go here.An on-guard card may be revealed when the company plays a resource that potentially taps the site. The card must affect the company or a character in the company that site phase. Note that this clarification is looser than the rule printed on page 61 of the Unlimited Rules book.
it can be revealed in response to the playing of the ring?A revealed on-guard card retroactively takes effect as though it were both declared and resolved immediately prior to the chain of effects during which it was revealed.
i guess this other line makes reference to a situation when neither the ring nor the scroll are not in play and no other target may be assigned, but this isn't the case because there was a possible target in play, the bearer of the scrollA successful ring test does not allow an on-guard card to be revealed.
Anyone else's opinnion? Mark? Manuel? Anyone can help me with this =P
-
- Ex Council Chairman
- Posts: 671
- Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 9:26 pm
You are correct, but I don't think you understand fully what you are correct about. You may reveal an on guard card when such a card is played. You don't have to, but you may. However, you may NOT reveal an on guard card in any other circumstances.as far as i understand an on-guard card doesn't MUST be revealed after tapping a site, it says MAY...
Not a special ring after a test, since that would never tap a site. After the play of a gold ring, of course, it's fine.it can be revealed in response to the playing of the ring?
Quote:
A successful ring test does not allow an on-guard card to be revealed.
i guess this other line makes reference to a situation when neither the ring nor the scroll are not in play and no other target may be assigned, but this isn't the case because there was a possible target in play, the bearer of the scroll
http://www.alfanos.org
-
- Ex Council Chairman
- Posts: 671
- Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 9:26 pm
Exactly. 

http://www.alfanos.org