CoE Digest #210 Q5 - Radagast's Black Bird

Locked
User avatar
DamienX207
Council Chairman
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:53 pm

Can Radagast's Black Bird be played even if Radagast is tapped or wounded?

There has been some contention over the years as to whether Radagast’s Black Bird can be played if Radagast himself is tapped or wounded. Here is the card text for reference:
Unique. Radagast specific. Playable at one of your Wizardhavens. You may return Radagastʹs Black Bird to your hand: during your organization phase or if its controlling character leaves active play. Radagast may play this ally at any site (tapped or untapped) and need not tap himself or the site to do so. This ally may attempt to influence factions as if he were a character. He may cancel a strike directed against him ‐ tapping afterwards if not already tapped.
Some members of our community have argued that the “(tapped or untapped)” parenthetical only refers to the site card, and/or that Radagast must still be untapped even if he “need not tap himself”. However, ICE’s NetRep confirmed in ICE 83 that Radagast’s Black Bird can be played even if Radagast is tapped:
Can I play Radagast’s Black Bird on Radagast if Radagast himself is tapped?
Yes.
And then COE 125 confirmed in 2013:
Radagast is able to play Radagast’s Black Bird even if he is tapped or wounded.
If one considers other cards with the “need not tap” clause (such as the minion Necklace of Girion, Memories of Old Torture, etc.), there’s no textual evidence to suggest a character must “not be wounded” in those cases, either. Therefore, lacking a substantial basis to overturn the aforementioned rulings, this committee is opting to uphold our community’s historical understanding that Radagast’s Black Bird may be played by Radagast even if he is tapped or wounded.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4489
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

DamienX207 wrote: Sun Jul 13, 2025 10:31 pm Some members of our community have argued that the “(tapped or untapped)” parenthetical only refers to the site card, and/or that Radagast must still be untapped even if he “need not tap himself”.
If condition of some action is that a card taps then the card needs be untapped just before the condition will be fulfilled.
But it is impossible to fulfill both conditions "tap to" AND "be untapped" at the time.
"be untapped" is precondition for "tap to". "be untapped" does not exist as a separate condition (here).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Shapeshifter
Ex Council Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

While I don‘t like the way the Black Bird may be played, I don‘t see a basis to overturn the current ruling. The council may think about an erratum, though 😉. I for myself see some unbalance in the current meta- game. And the Black Bird is part of that.
User avatar
DamienX207
Council Chairman
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:53 pm

Thank you for your contributions.

The RC will consider whether anything needs to change in the digest and post a final version soon.
Locked

Return to “Drafts”