This is from COE 38:
Now, I also encountered some questions (tGH = the Great Hunt):
What if tGH turns up a Beorning Skin Changers, which says: 'as a
creature, only playable against minion companies'?
a) It attacks the company like any other creature (with 2@1...)
b) It is put aside, not counting for the 5 creature total of tGH
c) It is put aside, but does count against the 5 creature total for tGH
because it is still a creature, even though it can't attack
*** a) above is correct.
--------
What if tGH turns up Adunaphel and I have her in play as a permanent event?
a) She attacks as normal, if defeated the in-play Adunaphel is
discarded; if not defeated that card remains in play
b) She cannot attack because uniqueness prevents it, so she is put
aside, not counting for the 5 creature total
c) Same as b), but does count for the 5 creature total
*** a) above is correct.
--------
Is tGH prevented by a Bane of the Ithil-stone?
*** Yes.
--------
Am I correct that I can play two copies of tGH in one turn? I think I
can, because after I play the first one, it is still my organisation
fase, so I can discard one stage card (i.e. I discard tGH), then I play
the second one. After all, the card is non-unique, it just 'can't be
duplicated'.
*** The aforementioned play is legal.
--------
Agents and Ahunt or At Home dragons are not at all affected by tGH, right?
*** Correct.
However, in COE 39 Chad overruled part of this:
In Rulings Digest #38, I ruled. Furthermore, I said the following:
> What if tGH turns up Adunaphel and I have her in play as a
> permanent event?
> a) She attacks as normal, if defeated the in-play Adunaphel is
> discarded; if not defeated that card remains in play
> b) She cannot attack because uniqueness prevents it, so she is put
> aside, not counting for the 5 creature total
> c) Same as b), but does count for the 5 creature total
>
> *** a) above is correct.
Travis Took inquired:
Why? If this is true then playing a Nazgûl as a Perm-event wouldn't stop
it from being played as a creature! Or how about the situation where tGH
pulls a Nazgûl that is in play as a Ringwraith, does it attack then and
if it gets killed the other guy loses his Ringer? Or even more ludicrous
would be Alatar declaring the Great Hunt only to reveal himself as the
first attack (in the form of Lord of the Hunt). IMO the only
hazard/perm-event/Character combo that should attack in this situation
is Mouth of Sauron/The Mouth, as The Mouth is removed from play, thereby
allowing Mouth of Sauron to attack. I would also say that such a
creature that is revealed but it does not attack should count towards
the 5 creature limit.
*** My bad. I now rule that The Great Hunt brings the affected
creatures into play, therefore uniqueness and other related
manifestation rules apply. Thus, if a creature is revealed that is
prevented from being in play, the creature does not attack and counts
toward the 5 creature total.
This should answer all of the above questions.