Prowess of Age on guard

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Alter Tuk
Ex Council Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: Germany

Another one came up last night:
Prowess of Age
Targets and cancels any effect which (declared earlier in the same chain of effects) that would cancel an attack from a unique Dragon manifestation. Alternatively, gives a prowess bonus to a Dragon or Drake attack (must be played before its strikes are assigned) dictated by the number of Prowess of Age cards played on the attack: +1 prowess if 1 played; +4 if 2 played; +9 if 3 played.
An awesome haz-play by Vastor last night: Turn 1 (!), I move my Trolls to the Caves of Ulond to try Black Maze + Thrors Map. Vastor plays the very ugly Agburanar at home and one on guard. No problem I thought. Face 1st AA and crept along the 2nd cleverly. But wtf!?! Vastor reveals Prowess of Age on guard to cancel my cancel! :shock:

So the question came up whether this is legal. An on-guard card must be played as if it was played in movement hazard phase concerning playability conditions, right? What do you say?
[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Unless card text allows otherwise, the target/conditions must have existed during the m/h phase.
The company decides to face the site's automatic-attack. If the on-guard card is a hazard creature keyed to the company's site or a hazard that can modify the automatic-attack, it may be revealed before the automatic-attack is resolved. If it is a hazard creature, it will attack after the automatic-attack is resolved.
Prowess of Age can be played on-guard for its second effect (increase prowess) because this affects the auto-attack.

It cannot be played for its first effect because its target did not exist during the m/h phase and the card text does not override it. Compare Searching Eye:
Cancel and discard any card requiring scout skill before it is resolved or cancel any ongoing effect of a card that required scout skill to play. If this card is played as an on-guard card, it can be revealed during the opponent's site phase to cancel and discard a card requiring scout skill before it is resolved.
Alter Tuk
Ex Council Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: Germany

Thanks for proper explanation.
[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]
Vastor Peredhil
Ex Council Member
Posts: 1351
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:46 am
Location: Kempen (Niederrhein) Germany

thanks as well,

I am always caught when I try to cheat Olt Tooks, maybe I should stop doing that

mfg Nicolai
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”