Arkenstone/Leaf Brooch; Necklace of Girion/Hero Items

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
domse
Ex Council Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:55 am

Hey!
Given I play a Fallenwizards deck and want to use the Minion Arkenstone. Can I discard a Leaf Brooch instead of the Stone?
Similar but not same: Can I discard the Minion Necklace of Girion to play Hero Major Items?
Thanks in advance!
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Leaf Brooch wrote:Only playable at Lórien. If a non-special item must be discarded from the company of Leaf Brooch's bearer (according to any hazard or resource effect), you may discard Leaf Brooch instead to fulfill this requirement.
Leaf Brooch does not affect the minion item in question, and is not a condition for the resource effect, so you are 100% okay to discard a Leaf Brooch instead of the Arkenstone.
Minion Necklace of Girion wrote:If bearer is at a Border-hold during the site phase, he can make a corruption check, and, if successful, discard this item to play up to 3 non-unique minor and/or major items with his company. Characters need not tap to receive these items.
The minor/major items are not a condition for this card and so may be either hero or minion. However, since they would normally tap the site, they must match the alignment of the site.
domse
Ex Council Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:55 am

I just playtested the deck with the Necklace and another question came to my mind: the characters receiving the items, do they need to be untapped, since they can only play them without tapping? and if so, can a character take multiple items?
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

If they don't need to tap, then they don't need to be untapped. The case is similar to Radagast's Black Bird. The necklace doesn't say three separate characters, so you can give them all to the same character if you like.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Leaf Brooch wrote:Only playable at Lórien. If a non-special item must be discarded from the company of Leaf Brooch's bearer (according to any hazard or resource effect), you may discard Leaf Brooch instead to fulfill this requirement.
Bold is mine.

Discarding of minion Arkenstone is a condition of its effect, not an effect of Arkenstone (in other words: discarding of the item is not the effect of action that requires discarding of that item).
Tapping of sage is not an effect of Marvels Told too. It is a condition of Marvels Told.
Bandobras Took wrote:The minor/major items are not a condition for this card and so may be either hero or minion. However, since they would normally tap the site, they must match the alignment of the site.
Items are played with characters at site, but that items are not played at site.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Konrad makes good points -- the leaf brooch Arkenstone trick looks like it is un-tricked.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”