Cards effective on declaration?

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Doors of Night - LE version wrote:Environment. When Doors of Night is played, all resource environment cards in play are immediately discarded, and all resource environment effects are canceled. Cannot be duplicated. One by one white stars sprang forth as the sky faded.-LotRII
Skies of Fire wrote:Environment. When Skies of Fire is played, all hazard environment cards in play are immediately discarded, and all hazard environment effects are canceled. This card acts as Gates of Morning for the purposes of interpreting hazards. Cannot be duplicated. There was a flare of livid lightnings: forks of blue flame springing up from the tower...into the sullen clouds.-LotRII

Strictly speaking card is played when it is declared, so this change in text of DoN would mean that card is effective even at this early stage. The same can be said about Skies of Fire.

Situation however is quite uclear in case of cards like Two or Three Tribes Present.
Two or Three Tribes Present wrote:Playable on a company moving with at least two Wildernesses [w], one Shadow-land [s], or one Dark-domain [d] in their site path. When played, announce a creature type except Nazgûl, Undead, or Dragons (like Orcs, Men, Slayers, Drakes, etc.) For this turn, any hazard creatures of this type played against target company do not count against the hazard limit.
Underline is mine.
When exactly creature type must be annuanced? At declaration or at resolution of the card? Taking into account that texts of LE Doors of Night and Skies of Fire is not precise in that question, answer does not seem be obvious (at least for me).

Any thoughts?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Alter Tuk
Ex Council Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: Germany

I really dont see in which situation this coud be important.

But there is the same thing with Pilfer anything unwatched. If you like to protect your hobbit with Tookish Blood in response. Question was: When is the target declared? Answer: It must have a target at declaration. Not sure if this is comparable.
[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Alter Tuk wrote:I really dont see in which situation this coud be important.

But there is the same thing with Pilfer anything unwatched. If you like to protect your hobbit with Tookish Blood in response. Question was: When is the target declared? Answer: It must have a target at declaration. Not sure if this is comparable.
I don't want to restart old debate on Pilfer here, so only short reminder:
Targets are decided at declaration. However it was discuted whether affected character is target of Pilfer or not. (Whether it is possible at all in this game to choose some objects at resolution, or whether each "choosen" entity should be automatically treated as target, regardless of presence/absence of word "choose"/"choice" in text of card).

Thanks for your comment.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

CRF, Targets wrote:A card is not in play until it is resolved in its chain of effects. When the play of a card is declared, no elements of the card may be the target of actions declared in the same chain of effects.
If you declare a card play action, it must resolve before the card is considered "played."
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

What must resolve before the card is considered "played."?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

The card play action.

I know this leads to a complete mess where you must declare a card's effects before the play of the card itself, but there it is.

In essence, you declare that you are bringing a card into play, and your opponent can respond to that declaration.

Thus the CRF under Active Conditions:
If any other active condition for an action does not exist when the action is resolved, the action has no effect; if the action was playing a card from your hand, it is discarded.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Ach so...
Now I understand your previous post.
I must say that I'm very surprised by such interpretation. :shock:
My interpretation of:
CRF, Targets wrote:A card is not in play until it is resolved in its chain of effects. When the play of a card is declared, no elements of the card may be the target of actions declared in the same chain of effects.
is quite different.
For example:
Smoke on the Wind
Playable at an already tapped Free-hold [F] during the site phase. The company faces two attacks (Men-5 strikes with 8 prowess, 1 strike with 10 prowess). If no characters are untapped following the attack, discard this card. Otherwise, you may tap one character in the company and put this card in your marshalling point pile. Discard any factions you have in play that are playable at this site. Cannot be duplicated at a given site.


has (at least) a three elements:
Attack1: Men-5 strikes with 8 prowess
Attack2: Men-1 strike with 10 prowess
Smoke on the Wind itself

so until it resolve Attack1, Attack2, and Smoke on the Wind cannot be targeted by anything.

Third verse of quoted rule is
An exception to this is a dice-rolling action, e.g. a corruption check.
which I understand in following way (example):
If Marvels Told is declared you can play New Friendship on cc created by Marvels Told in response.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Yes. All I'm saying is that Skies of Fire is played when the card play action resolves in the chain of effects, not when the card play action is declared.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”