Detainment Strike Fails -- Agent Wounded?

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

I know that it was recently (so to speak) ruled that Detainment attacks are never defeated. However, if a detainment strike from an Agent fails, is the agent wounded?

Here's a relevant CRF quote:
To wound an agent you only need to defeat the prowess of one strike. To eliminate an agent you must defeat the prowess and body for all strikes.
Strictly speaking, couldn't one eliminate the agent even on a detainment attack, without ever having defeated the attack?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

I think that are only sine qua non conditions of defeating agent.
If other conditions exists they are must be met too. Something else may keep agent alive. :)

Similar situation:
Lidless Eye, Starter Rules, Movement wrote:At the end of its movement/hazard phase, the site of origin is removed and the moving company's new site card becomes the company's current site card (unless the company is forced to return to its site of origin).
Sometimes the end of M/H phase of moving company may not be sufficient condition of removing the site of origin. Other company may be there, site may be designed as new site of other moving company etc. Something else may keep site on table.

P.S.
It, of course, does not mean that I agree with mentioned recent ruling. I disagree with it, but for other reasons. :)
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

The thing is, I can't seem to find any rules regarding detainment attacks from Agent Hazards, so it seems like this basic rule would still apply. Does anybody know of any?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

I can't seem to find any rules regarding detainment attacks from Agent Hazards

Me too...

Added:
However I assume that author of mentioned ruling know such rules or at least has other justification of his statements.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

The ruling was simply that there's no indication how to defeat non-creature detainment attacks.

While there is no indication of how to defeat a detainment agent attack, we do have clear indications of how to wound and eliminate an agent, and it seems that such would apply to all agent attacks in the lack of any other information.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Yes.
There is also no indication how to defeat an attack (detainment or not) from Trouble on All Borders, or from Traitor.
Is there a need of such indication for all cases? How about Neeker-Breekers, Thief and Pick-Pocket? Is fact that some attacks does not wound defenders enough reason for special indication "how to defeat such class of attacks"?

I see your point now.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”