folco's replacement ability
I've been reading in the netrep forum that strider's replacement ability overules the obligation of playing only one character per turn and in the organization phase. I supose that it's the same case with folco's ability (discard at a haven to bring a hobbit in play). Right?
-
- Ex Council Member
- Posts: 474
- Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:39 pm
I dont think so, cause Strider mentions REPLACEMENT while FOldo just allows PLAYING a hobbit. Here lies the difference.
"I used to roll the dice, feel the fear in my enemies eyes."
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.
Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.
Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3157
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
Er . . . no.Ringbearer wrote:I dont think so, cause Strider mentions REPLACEMENT
By the Strider logic (such as it isStrider wrote:You may bring Aragorn II into play with Strider's company, removing Strider from the game and automatically transferring all cards on Strider to Aragorn II.

*** edited to clarify that I was responded to Ringbearer's post and not the original question as such.Folco Boffin wrote:You may discard Folco at a Haven to play any Hobbit from your hand with his company.
Last edited by Bandobras Took on Fri Jun 01, 2007 2:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Cards allowing playing special characters and/or playing them in special way says about "playing", "bringing" them in to play alternately. I don't see any regularity here.Ringbearer wrote:I dont think so, cause Strider mentions REPLACEMENT while FOldo just allows PLAYING a hobbit. Here lies the difference.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
-
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 6:57 am
On another thread "playing" has been quoted from the CRF as "bringing a card from your hand into play". I would say by that logic bringing Aragorn into play from your hand using Strider's ability is in fact "playing" him. Same for Folco's ability. Whether you can do this in addition to the one character per turn is a different question.