folco's replacement ability

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
coro
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:32 pm
Location: barcelona - the shire

I've been reading in the netrep forum that strider's replacement ability overules the obligation of playing only one character per turn and in the organization phase. I supose that it's the same case with folco's ability (discard at a haven to bring a hobbit in play). Right?
Ringbearer
Ex Council Member
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:39 pm

I dont think so, cause Strider mentions REPLACEMENT while FOldo just allows PLAYING a hobbit. Here lies the difference.
"I used to roll the dice, feel the fear in my enemies eyes."
- Coldplay, Viva la Vida.

Gaming is life, the rest is just dice rolls.
- John Kovalic, Dork Tower
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Ringbearer wrote:I dont think so, cause Strider mentions REPLACEMENT
Er . . . no.
Strider wrote:You may bring Aragorn II into play with Strider's company, removing Strider from the game and automatically transferring all cards on Strider to Aragorn II.
By the Strider logic (such as it is :roll: ), Folco's ability may be used at any time.
Folco Boffin wrote:You may discard Folco at a Haven to play any Hobbit from your hand with his company.
*** edited to clarify that I was responded to Ringbearer's post and not the original question as such.
Last edited by Bandobras Took on Fri Jun 01, 2007 2:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Ringbearer wrote:I dont think so, cause Strider mentions REPLACEMENT while FOldo just allows PLAYING a hobbit. Here lies the difference.
Cards allowing playing special characters and/or playing them in special way says about "playing", "bringing" them in to play alternately. I don't see any regularity here.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
sly southerner
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 6:57 am

On another thread "playing" has been quoted from the CRF as "bringing a card from your hand into play". I would say by that logic bringing Aragorn into play from your hand using Strider's ability is in fact "playing" him. Same for Folco's ability. Whether you can do this in addition to the one character per turn is a different question.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”